Jump to content

Call for Papers: Closing Reception EU Hydrogen Diplomacy

On 6 June, the project organised by EPICO KlimaInnovation, the Iberdrola Energy and Climate Chair at the College of Europe, and the Student Energy Group at the College of Europe came to an end. H.E. Ambassador Caroline Millar, and Deputy Ambassador Caroline Millar kindly hosted the reception at the Residence of the Australian Ambassador to the EU.

The energy crises, the unlawful and unprovoked Russian war on Ukraine, and the fierce fight we must carry against climate change, position Green Hydrogen as an essential part to shift to a decarbonised economy, in the European Union and globally.

The European Union needs to reassess its relations with third countries and to strengthen cooperation with partners to jointly develop technologies and innovation that can help us to reach net-zero emissions, and achieve the ambitious goals we have set in the last few years. EU-Australian relations represent a perfect example of successful and reliable bilateral relations that can enhance topical research and development of key technologies that can help us reach net-zero.

In this context, EPICO’s project on supporting youth voices in EU-decision-making is of great significance and importance. High-quality policy briefs were submitted in March 2023 by College of Europe students, alumni, and diplomats of the newly established European Diplomatic Academy. Many papers put an emphasis on the need to ensure that the EU’s hydrogen diplomacy strategy adds value to third countries’ local communities. A panel of high-level jury members reviewed the papers, providing feedback to authors.

Students Ms Stefanie Schäfer and Mr Jonas Meuleman won the competition with their paper entitled “Powering a Global Just Transition: fostering socio-ecological justice in the EU’s Green Hydrogen Partnership with Morocco”. The reception saw keynote speeches by H.E. Ambassador Caroline Millar, Dr Bernd Weber, Michele Chang (Director of the Transatlantic Affairs Programme at the College of Europe), and Jorgo Chatzimarkakis.

This pilot project hopes to continue in the years to come, including an additional number of universities around Europe and the world.

Dr Weber Image: Valentin DUPOUEY-STERDYNIAK
Empfang Image: Valentin DUPOUEY-STERDYNIAK
Check Überreichung Image: Valentin DUPOUEY-STERDYNIAK
Caroline Millar Image: Valentin DUPOUEY-STERDYNIAK
Dr Weber and Winner Image: Valentin DUPOUEY-STERDYNIAK

List of Jury Members

  • Camille Maury, Senior Policy Officer, WWF Europe
  • Carlos Alvarez Aguilera, DG ENER, TF.1. Global Demand and International Negotiations
  • Cédric Lombaerts, Energy Attaché at the European Affairs Directorate-General, Belgian Ministry of Foreign Affairs
  • Clémence Brodier, Officer, Mobility Policy H2Europe
  • Dr Bernd Weber, CEO EPICO KlimaInnovation
  • Dr David Dutton, Australian Deputy Ambassador to the EU
  • Dr Klaus-Dieter Borchardt, Visiting Senior Fellow at the Oxford Institute for Energy Studies (OIES) and former Deputy Director General (DG ENER), European Commission
  • Dr Tudor Constantinescu, Principal Adviser to the Director General for Energy in the European Commission
  • Emilien Gasc, EU Climate Diplomat at the Delegation of the European Union to the United Kingdom
  • Flavie Guerin, Trade Officer Canadian Mission to the EU
  • Ignazio Corrao, MEP (Italy, Greens/EFA)
  • Jorgo Chatzimarkakis, CEO H2Europe
  • Maria Assumpció Rojo Torrent, Director, Trade and Industrial Policy H2Europe
  • Nicolás González Casares, MEP (Spain, S&D)
  • Professor Andreas Goldthau, Visiting Professor at the College of Europe
  • Professor Dirk Buschle, Iberdrola Energy Chair at the College of Europe, and Deputy Director & Head of Legal, Energy Community Secretariat
  • Professor Simon Schunz, Professor in the EU International Relations and Diplomacy Studies at the College of Europe
  • Sarah Kamal, Second Secretary, Egyptian Mission to the EU
  • Tatiana Marquez Uriarte, Member of Cabinet of Energy Commissioner Simson, European Commission
  • Yolanda Garcia Mezquita, DG ENER, TF.2. Relations with the Member States and the Neighborhood